1 Comment

GALE FORCE!!!!

Mon 23rd May 2011

I went into uni this morning not thinking anything about the weather I got the 16A bus from Perth to Dundee at 0905. When I got through I went in uni and had a nose around at the rest of the Degree Show before entering the Textile corridor as we were having a wee meet up with our module leader just to discuss and see what was on show. The show was amazing. The next time I looked at my mobile it was 1310 so time to get home and see Lochlin I think. First port of call was somewhere for lunch so went to one of the snacky places on the Perth Road then went over the road to catch the 16 bus home and oh boy was it windy. I have to say this was a scary journey home I didn’t really think much of it at the start until on the dual-carriage-way from Dundee to Perth I saw an up-rooted tree but at least it was still on the banking at the side of the road. Before that there were a few bins which flew about onto the road and into still cars as the bin men were emptying them but he did put then back into the close laying flat so they couldn’t go anywhere this time. As we entered Inchture there was another up-rooted tree just outside the post office it had also taken some pavement and fencing with it –NOW this was getting scary, the bus just got passed okay. I must take my hat of to the driver and give him some praise as at points you could feel the bus being shuved and pushed put he stayed in control the WHOLE time, thank you driver : ) . On the country road from Inchture to Errol where there are fields to the right and trees to the left well now most of those trees are no longer standing. It looked like a stack of dominoes which had fallen down. We got into Errol and typical there had been people waiting  at the bus stop and the first thing one said was ‘ you’re late and I am cold’ not realising how bad the roads had been. Then we got to St.Madoes and at the Perth end there was yet another up-rooted tree but again the bus was able to get passed just but it was close. Now that passage realised how mad it had been and they said their apploysies to the driver when getting off.

Then we got out to the dual-carriage-way again St.Madoes to Perth and there was more hectic-ness.

More up-rooted trees.

Crops really getting pushed around from side to side in the gales.

And the plastic covering blowing about some had actually been up lifted and blown away in the gales. Even trampolines had being moved in this as was seen in Walnut Grove.

I felt a total mess inside I felt a little scared and just didn’t know whether to cry or laugh in fear, I was still shocked up when I got to Lochlin. My first plans was to walk home the usual route then decided not a good idea as didn’t know how the trees would be along the lade and then the wind and traffic at the Dunkeld road would probably scare me. So we got a taxi home only to be confronted with more flying bins and split trees and fallen branches. THIS IS SCARY WEATHER I actually think I can say that I prefer the snow, at least with that you are stuck and can’t get anywhere. In these gales you can still get from a to b but have to stay calm and in total control or you would probably fly away both on feet and in wheels.

Is this really Spring??

One comment on “GALE FORCE!!!!

  1. Hi Viv so relieved to see you got home ok 🙂

Leave a comment